I KNOW NOT EVERYONE WILL LOVE MY WORK…

(A Note To My Readers)

My book baby is now out of my hands. It’s become painfully clear: this is the point I have no power over what I’ve put out there. As someone living with a plethora of disorders such as Generalized Anxiety Disorder (GAD), Obsessive Compulsive Disorder (OCD), and Post Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD), this is a true a test in my ability to let things go. I want everyone to love my characters, but I know some of you will hate them. I want everyone to feel for the central thread’s connecting trauma (because it’s based on true events), but I realize not all of you will. I want everyone who holds Birdie & Bash to press the pages to your hearts, promising to never forget the journey they’ve taken you on, but I know it’s not going to vibe with all readers. As an avid book lover myself, I know this to be true based on my own personal lack of connection to popular, beloved, and highly coveted books. I also take into account everyone’s varied backgrounds and scope of personal tastes in that this particular story may not pique all interests. With all that said, whether you looooove the book or want to burn it in a trash fire, I want to thank you for taking time out of your life to give my story, my characters, and this rewritten piece of my family’s history, a chance. I’ll continue trying to better myself, and my craft, with each piece of writing—pinky promise.

From the bottom of my heart, thank you.

May the thematic message of B&B be with you all—hope of a better future, for all.



BIRDIE & BASH GET AROUND

I’ve been mentioned on a few websites! Go check meow-out!

Pop Goes The Reader

Salsera Beauty Reads

Bustle

If you haven’t already (WHY HAVEN’T YOU?), go read up on the first 2 chapters, add B & B to Goodreads (review if you’ve already read!), and PREORDER this bad boy! 

I’M HEADED TO BOSTON!

Courtesy of baa.org

THANK YOU, CLIF BAR!

I’ve been asked by CLIF Bar to be part of their Boston Marathon team and I couldn’t be more thrilled (or honored)! The whole CLIF/Luna crew has been soooo supportive of my running journey and I’m infinitely grateful. If you don’t yet know the story, you can read the abbreviated version on Hello Giggles HERE. Having just completed the Indianapolis Monumental Marathon this past November, followed by the Disney Marathon in January, I’m dedicated to getting my mind and body ready for (what I hear) is a challenging race. I’ve always wanted to go to Boston, so this is definitely a dream come true! If you’ve run it and want to give me some tips or encouragement, please shoot me an email. And, if you’re not already, make sure you’re following me on Twitter via @candlyandgang because I’ll be Tweeting my nerves away all through race weekend, April 14th-17th.

Send all the hugs and positive vibes (I’ll need them) as I aim to make CLIF Bar, and my two children, proud!!!


PRAISE FOR BIRDIE & BASH

“One of 2017’s Biggest Debuts” – Bustle

“Smart, raw, often biting in its reflections of the haves and have-nots, this debut will appeal to fans of John Green’s An Abundance of Katherines. Birdie and Bash are part of a cast of characters so vividly drawn, you’ll find yourself not only wanting to (re)study chemistry but learning what you get in life isn’t always what you deserve – sometimes it’s more. Candace Ganger’s breathtaking debut is a must-have for every shelf.” – Patty Blount, award-winning author of Some Boys

“The Inevitable Collision of Birdie & Bash is part love story, part page-turner, and part intricate character study. Ganger writes her characters with great care, and the beautifully structured story is filled with giant truths and tiny, perfect details. Falling for this book was quick, thrilling and, yes, inevitable.” – Corey Ann Haydu, author of OCD Love Story and the forthcoming The Careful Undressing of Love

“Smart, emotionally rich, and beautifully written, The Inevitable Collision of Birdie & Bash is an unforgettable, heartfelt novel—realistic YA at its best.” – Jamie Kain, author of Instructions for the End of the World andThe Good Sister

“A smart, complex story with textured characters that lift off the page. Candace Ganger has a rare talent for weaving together two compulsively readable voices.” – Jessica Taylor, author of Wandering Wild and the forthcoming A Map for Lost Girls

“Smart, intense, heartbreaking…this debut novel is a must read.”—Kim Turrisi, author of Just a Normal Tuesday

“A stunning and brilliantly crafted debut that peels back layers to the raw and the real. My theory: Candace Ganger’s talent is something you definitely want to collide with, immediately. Birdie + Bash = 2 characters impossible not to fall in love with.” – K.M. Walton, author of Empty, Cracked, and forthcoming Ultimatum


B-FEST SUCCESS!

This past weekend, I had the honor of attending the nationwide teen festival, B-Fest at Barnes & Noble in my nearby town of Centerville, Ohio! Thanks to B&N and to those who came out to support this gal! xoxo

13407101_10201658228054166_8652764144214975830_n

13413507_10201658228414175_3731035473612086196_n

13427985_10201658228814185_7733738154832060172_n

(Images via my freakin’ phone)